Thread Painting

I learned a new technique called Thread Painting. First I had to trace the picture I wanted to use. Once that was completed I started sewing to recreate the picture with thread.

image

Once she was all done, I started coloring herin using colored pencils.

image

I think I will try this technique again in recreating another portrait.

Diva Dane

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thread Painting

  1. Annette says:

    Hi, I don’t know anything about portrait quilts or thread painting but I really like your portrait. What kind of medium did you use to trace the picture onto your fabric? Then, how did you sew on the traced lines? Did you use a free motion technique with your machine or did you sew it by hand? Then, what kind of white fabric is that? Is it muslin or regular cotton solid white? Then, what kind of pencils did you use to color your portrait. Can you set the colors so they don’t fade over time? Is this something that will never be washed or will it be washable?

    • Hello Annette,

      For the Thread Painting, I actually took the Internet Class from http://www.craftsy.com. When you on the site click on online classes and select quilting. The class is called Thread Art by Lola Jenkins.

      I used my lightbox to trace the picture onto my White Muslin fabric. I used a pencil to trace. Once everything is traced onto your fabric you then use free motion to stitch over what you have traced with black thread or whatever color you would like to use. I used regular colored pencils (I believe the brand is Rose Art). Once I was done coloring in the picture that I stitched, I used the iron to set the color. This quilt is an art quilt and I would not wash it.

      I hope I answered your questions, but let me know if you need more information.

      Thanks,

      DivaDane

      • Annette says:

        Thank you for answering all of my questions! This is something that I definitely would like to learn more about. I found the class on Craftsy.. Thank you again!

Leave a Reply

