Gee’s Bend Quilts

Good Morning everyone,

I hope you all had a nice weekend.  Chicago was nice and hot. My mom and I enjoyed spending time with my sister.

I have always been fascinated with the Gee’s Bend Quilts after seeing an Oprah Winfrey show when she was interviewing them. I recently started searching for their quilt patterns online and I couldn’t find any.  I even emailed a company and they let me know that the company stop making the kits. I’m sure there are still stores that have kits they haven’t sold but good luck finding them.

So then that lead me to find pictures of their quilts. I like the Courthouse Steps / House Steps quilt.

image

I found another picture of this quilt in a different design. I then started creating my version of the quilt and figuring out the measurements.  This is my finished quilt top.

image

Its small so I haven’t decided what I’m going to do with it yet. I might incorporate it into another quilt. I will update once I know what I’m doing with this quilt top.

Diva Dane

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

