Making New Quilty Friends

Diva Dane and I visited the Great Lakes Heritage Quilt Guild (glhq.org) Meeting this evening. This was our first time visiting with this group. The group has over 100 members. We really enjoyed the meeting, however, today has been a long day from working all day, quickly getting dinner, attending the meeting and getting in about 10pm. Our primary purpose for visiting the guild meeting was to see Jacquie Gering one of the authors of Quilting Modern: Techniques and Projects for Improvisational Quilts who was their guest speaker.

Diva Dane and I first heard Jacquie speak at AQS in August and really enjoyed it. We fell in love with her work and modern quilt aesthetic. I was also moved by hearing her describe where she gets the inspiration for her quilts. So when I came home from AQS, I began to look up modern quilting and look to see if there were other modern quilters in our area. I found that Jacquie was coming to our area to teach a workshop hosted by GLHQ. Diva Dane and I immediately called the organizer and registered for the class. By registering for the class, although not members of GLHQ, we were invited to attend the tonight’s meeting to hear Jacquie speak. GLHQ waived the guest fee due to our registering for the class. The class is tomorrow 9am-4pm. I just got done gathering all my fabric and class supplies for in the morning. I am really excited to attend the class and can’t wait to share with you my results.

Diva Dane and I also discussed possibly joining this group, however, we already belong to two groups along with trying to enhance and expand The Craft Divas, we won’t have the time. I don’t believe it is out of the realm of possibility but for now we are moving forward with the numerous tasks on our list..

Bizzy Lady

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

