Half-Square Triangles

I think I am in love. If you look through my gallery of projects, you will not find many projects requiring half-square triangles. I had a request to make a block requiring them and thought I would use a tool I bought a while ago using a Joann’s coupon. Since my first quilt instructor introduced me to the June Tailor slotted ruler, I have been a fan. I have a number of the slotted rulers in my arsenal for various needs. I have the Quarter Cut for cutting strips in 1/4 inch increments, Shape Cut for strips in 1/2 inch increments, and Diamond Cut Ruler – A Girl’s Best Friend where you can cut one inch to six inch diamonds in 1/4 inch increments (still have yet to use this one). I also have the Perfect Half-Square and Quarter-Square Triangles.

junetailor ruler

2013-11-09 18.38.08

2013-11-09 18.38.43

The marks and measurements on the ruler make it easy to square. The slots then ease squaring the block. I recommend that if you have not tried the slotted ruler that with your next coupon you seriously consider getting one. I suggest the 1/2 inch Shape Cut. Your cutting process will never be the same.

Til next time,

Bizzy Lady

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

