Quilting Projects

Hey Everyone,

I hope everyone is doing good. Well here in Detroit, it is 12 degrees here. Even though I have lived here all my life, I still don’t like the cold and this is just the beginning. It snowed a little bit but it was just a dusting.

I hope y’all have done your Christmas shopping. I will be getting out there this weekend to do my final shopping. So that means I need to ask what my mother and sister want. I already know what I’m doing for my girlfriends, or at least I think I do. We have given each other our list of items we would like.

I did a little quilting today. I have sewn the background fabric to all 4 blocks for my Modern Improv quilt. I am now thinking about doing quilt as you go because I want to try different designs for each block.

20131211_201132

 

As  Co-Chair the 2014 Quilt show for one of the guilds I’m in, we decided to think of a challenge for the membership to participate in if they like to. It has been difficult coming up with a design.  I have always wanted to do a landscape quilt, so I decided to come up with it in my quilt.  This challenge is to use any Sunbonnet Sue you would like but she but wear ethnic fabric and the Pempansie symbol also needs to be included in the 24×24″ quilt.

I made a diagram for what I want it to look like.20131210_123402

I made a small sample to see if I like it before I make my large project. I have auditioned two sky backgrounds.

20131211_201835 20131211_201654

 

What do y’all think about my sample so far? I need constructive criticism from y’all, please.

Also has anyone done Quilt As You Go? Do you like that technique of quilting?

Until next time,

Diva Dane

 

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

