In the Quilting World

Hey Everyone,

How is the weather where you are? It’s been VERY VERY Cold here. It got down to 16 or more below zero and we had a very bad snow storm.

Our Modern Guild meeting was canceled this week due to the weather. We will have our meeting next week and that’s when we get to see how our round robin looks. I was able to complete mine. The theme for this quilt is Garden time.20140104_175115

It took me awhile to decide what I wanted to do. I decided to add appliqued gardening tools.

20140104_165521

This is the final product.20140104_180425

I needed to go shopping today at the quilting store to purchase quilting needles for my sewing machine. Sooooo, while I was shopping of course I had to purchase fabric. Bizzy Lady and I have been looking at the Shot Cotton fabric for awhile.  You maybe wondering what that is.

Shot cotton is special because the warp and weft yarns are 2 different colors woven together to create a special depth, a “shot” of color. When the edge of this fabric ravels, you can see a bright contrast to the body of the fabric.  The quilt shop had Peppered Cotton (which is a line of shot cotton) and I purchased two different colors. I don’t know if you can see the two colors in the fabric from the pictures I took.20140108_195932 20140108_195916

I also saw this fabric and had to have it. 20140108_195907

I have a lot of sewing to get done in the next couple of days. So I better get going.

Have a nice weekend everyone.

Until next week.

Diva Dane

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

