Quilting and Cooking, My Two Favorite Things

Hey Everyone,

It is so cold here in Detroit. I think this morning when I went to work it was 5 below zero.

In a previous post, I stated that I had an idea and was ready to work on my Round Robin. Well I completed it. This is what it looked like before I added my round.wpid-20140115_055107.jpg

I was doing a search on Pinterest (I love that App), for modern quilt blocks. And that what I found I made a Modern House. 20140120_193156

To complete my Round Robin I added a row with my block and a block that wasn’t sewn on the quilt top.  This is the completed top.20140120_201541

Once I completed that I got inspiration to work on a new quick quilt top and to try out a new technique that I saw. I have to create a base quilt first before I add the new feature. This is what I have so far but I’m thinking, I’m going to change things around.20140121_194633

==================================================================

Cooking

So in between sewing, I made this awesome Banana Bread Crumb Cake. I took it to work and everyone loved it. So I will be making it again for my family and friends.20140121_192044

Banana Bread Crumb Cake

Ingredients

    • 2 cups flour
    • 3 tsp baking powder
    • 1 tsp salt
    • 3 ripe bananas
    • 1/2 cup butter, room temperature
    • 2 cups granulated sugar
    • 2 eggs
    • 1 tsp vanilla
    • 1 cup milk
Crumb Filling and topping
    • 1 cup cold butter, cubed
    • 2 cups light brown sugar
    • 2 cups flour
Glaze
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1-2 Tbsp milk

Directions

    1. Preheat oven to 350°
    2. Spray a 9×13 baking dish with cooking spray, set aside
    3. In a medium bowl whisk together flour, baking powder and salt. set aside.
    4. In a large bowl mash bananas until they become liquified.
    5. Mix in butter until combined and then stir in sugar, eggs and vanilla until mixed well.
    6. Stir in milk and flour until combined.
Crumb Filling/Topping
  1. Prepare crumb filling/topping by combining all the ingredients together cutting them together with a fork or pastry cutter until a coarse crumb forms.
  2. Pour 1/2 of the batter into the prepared pan. Top with 1/3 of the crumb mixture. Cover the filling with the remaining batter and top with remaining crumb mixture.
  3. Bake for 50-55 minutes until the center is set and a toothpick comes out clean.
  4. Cool for 10 minutes.
  5. *If desired mix powdered sugar and milk together and drizzle on top.
  6. Can be served warm or at room temperature.

As Bizzy Lady stated in her post, we are very excited about new happenings for us.

Until then…..

Diva Dane

This entry was posted in Cooking, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quilting and Cooking, My Two Favorite Things

  1. Gaye Tolliver says:

    Quilts AND banana bread crumb cake? Couldn’t ask for much more! Saw the feature on the Divas in today’s Detroit News and had to check out your blog; love your designs and definitely impressed with the appliqués – very nice!

Leave a Reply

