DAMQG Retreat

As Diva Dane posted, we attended the retreat. Thanks to them DAM girls for a good time. I am not one to go to a retreat and want to just be on my own and sew. I like having dedicated time to work on my projects but I like to do others things too. Of course you have the socializing getting to know your fellow guild members but I like to participate in workshops or demos and do something I normally would not choose to do just on my own. During this retreat, I got an opportunity to play with zippers. We made a small accessory bag called Sew Together created by Sewdemented (available on Craftsy). I raided my stash, went to the store and got matching zippers. Throughout the weekend, I had a love hate relationship with this bag. For the body of this bag, I chose to improvise with a log cabin-like variation and quilting which took me most of Friday to complete. At the end of Friday, I was vowing to never again do another one of these bags. Saturday we worked on putting the bag together and it was coming along great, I was in love. Later that day after the putting in the zippers and binding the edges, I was back to I will never do another one of these bags. I finished the bag on the fence. I have some more stash fabric that I can use to create another one and I know my Mom would enjoy one so stay tuned, you just might see another bag from me.  When viewing the pictures of the bag, check out the accordion-like sides in the different fabric which is my favorite part of the bag. You can see my bag also on the Detroit Area Modern Quilt Guild March blog post.

damq bag dam retreat bag1 2014-03-23 15.49.09

I also want to show off the really cool logo we have for the Detroit Area Modern Quilt Group (DAMQG on the national Modern Quilt Guild Community)

dam guild logo

DAMQG-logo-wheel-icon-COLOR-180x180

Until next time….

Bizzy Lady

This entry was posted in Crafting, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DAMQG Retreat

  1. trkingmomoe says:

    Yup, zippers can be a challenge. Your bag turned out nice. I do like the bright colors.

Leave a Reply

