Designing A Quilt

Happy Hump Day!!!

All I want to say is, WHERE IS SPRING!!!! It’s cold again here in Detroit and it has gotten very very OLD.

I am loving quilting more and more each day. Bizzy Lady and I are to the point now where we design our own quilts.  It is very rewarding to think of a design, put it to paper and then make the quilt come to life.

We use graph or grid paper to draw your design on. By using the graph paper we give each square a measurement of 2 inches a square. Also when designing the quilt, at this point you don’t have to worry about 1/4 inch seam allowance.

When thinking of a new design, I’m always looking on Pintrest, the Internet, magazines and the city around me. Sometimes when I’m out and about, I take pictures with my phone and use them as inspiration.

wpid-20140416_204921.jpg wpid-20140416_204927.jpg

This is my first example. I saw this piece of artwork and thought it would be nice in a quilt. In the second picture, I drew the design on graph paper.

wpid-20140421_204830.jpg wpid-20140422_123825.jpg wpid-20140422_184625.jpg

Once again in this example, I found my inspiration and designed the quilt. In the third because I started adding my measurements. When I get to the point to cut out my pieces, I will include the 1/4 inch seam allowance.

I hope this post helps someone that has wondered how to design their own quilt or was nervous about it.

If anyone has any questions, please add a comment to this post and I will be glad to answer them.

Until next time…

Diva Dane

 

This entry was posted in Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

