Summer Squash Casserole

Hey Everyone,

Today I made one of my favorite meals, Summer Squash Casserole.

wpid-img_20150729_184547.jpg

My Grandma used to make this for Thanksgiving and I added a twist to it.

Summer Squash Casserole Recipe

  • 8 Medium Yellow Squash
  • 1 Large Onion Chopped
  • 1/2 Pound  grated Cheddar Cheese
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 Bag of Pepperidge Farm Herb Stuffing
  • 1/2 Pound Shrimp (cooked shrimp or salad shrimps)
  • 1/2 Can of Cream of Chicken or Cream of Shrimp
  • 1/2 Stick of margarine

Directions

  • Preheat oven at 350 degrees.
  • Slice squash and in large pot and add chopped onions and bring to a boil  until squash is tender. Drain water.
  • In a large mixing bowl add the cooked squash and onion mixture and mash with your fork to make smaller pieces.
  • Add the remaining ingredients and mix until mixed well.
  • Transfer the mixture into a baking dish.
  • Bake for 30 to 45 minutes until the casserole has browned and looks set.

Diva Dane’s Additions:

So I also do a couple of things to spice it up or make it different each time I make it.\

  • I don’t always add shrimp. I substitute it for crab meat and add as much as you want to your mixture.
  • I always add Garlic powder and Lawry Seasoning Salt to spice it up.
  • Add 1 cup of sour cream to make the mixture even smoother and creamy.

I hope yall will take time out to try this recipe, its very good.

Until next time….

Diva Dane

 

This entry was posted in Cooking, General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

