Bizzy Lady – 52 Quilters

I will be taking over 52Quilters social media sites for the week of September 26th, week 39 (Diva Dane did week 33). Please visit and follow as I share highlights and aspects of my quilting journey and adventures on www.52quilters.com blog, @52quilters on Instagram and @52quilters on Twitter.

As Diva Dane mentioned, she has found another obsession and dragged me along with her, making bags. I am still working on my Lorraine bag from Crafty Gemini’s Video Bag of the Month Club where Diva Dane has already made 2 (I always lovingly call her Overachiever to which she responds Whatever – LOL). I love the creative process but not so much if it involves pain or excessive struggle. Installing grommets using the hand tool kit falls into this category. So I bought a grommet machine. I am waiting on it to arrive at which time I will finish my bag. I will share my review of the grommet machine once I receive and use it.

lorrainebag1

I too used cork fabric (purchased from Sew Sweetness) along with Tula Pink fabric. As I start to make more bags, I find that I like the look of the more sturdier fabrics such as the cork, vinyls, and home decor fabrics for my bags. So I will be experimenting more with those fabrics either alone or pairing them with cotton fabrics.

I chose to use the cork fabric for my strap and really like it. The strap feels sturdy. I chose not to use any interfacing (such as Pellon Shapeflex) in the strap. I was concerned that when using the cork and folding it multiple times to create the strap, I would have an issue with bulkiness and trouble sewing through the layers. I used a 90/14 needle and had no trouble. So I will definitely be using it again.

2016-09-12-15-11-47

Well I have a busy week ahead so I am trying to get a head start.

Until next time…..

Bizzy Lady

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

