Back to Business

The Craft Divas had a busy fun-filled summer. I did not do much sewing and I am missing my fabric and machines so it is time to get back to business.

I did recently do some machine embroidery for a group that I volunteer for. I am a Project Manager Ambassador for The I Am Experience (theiamexperience.org) whose mission is to promote positive affirmations in women of all ages and acknowledge the value women bring to themselves first and then to the rest of the world. I made shirts for the team members with the I Am Experience logo embroidered on them.

2017-10-07 10.14.32

I have been looking for a while for embroidery digitizing software that doesn’t take an IQ of 170 to use and require a loan to buy. I believe my search may be over. The shirts were not perfect and I believe with a little more practice I will be able to fix some of the issues I had. I found the software Sew Art. Sew Art is an embroidery digitizer for converting raster image files, vector images, and clipart into embroidery file formats. Image processing tools and a step-by-step wizard are provided to produce an image suitable for yielding a high-quality embroidery stitch-out.

You can download a trial version for free and then if you want to purchase the software its $75. When compared to other embroidery digitizing software, Sew Art is not too expensive. When working with an image, there is a wizard that will walk you through converting the image. There are some YouTube videos that will help. I watched the YouTube videos and jumped right in. This is the initial image I started with and you can see the digitizing results using Sew Art on the shirt above.

I AM white background source

I will spend some more time with the software learning how to refine the image, smoothing out the stitches, reduce jumps, etc.

Again, we are back to business. I have been collecting patterns and my Diva bucket list is very long. I can’t wait to get started and sharing with you.

Until next time…..

Bizzy Lady

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

